9 Gluten Free Pasta Recipes You'll Love
- see all comments
"This is an awful recipe. Just doesn't work at all. The whole thing still looked just like flour after adding the amount of liquid in the recipe. Wasted a load of ingredients trying it so you don't have to."
"Has anyone used a pasta machine to roll this out? I have had success with egg based GF pasta (with enough xanthan gum) to roll carefully through the pasta machine. Wondering if theres enough hold to do it with this one. Looking forward to trying!"
"This recipe needs a lot of work. The proportions are not correct and the instructions need more work and clarity."
"your favorite foods won't make you feel sick anymore!"
Tricky Gluten Free Ingredients
Some gluten free ingredients can be tricky to identify, but this list can take some of the stress out of grocery shopping.
We are adding the recipe to your Recipes.
The recipe was added to your Recipes.
Click here to view your Recipes.
If you're a gluten free foodie, you're probably also a professional at scouring food labels to double-check for sneaky gluten ingredients. There are a lot of foods and ingredients that don't contain gluten that you may assume do or vice versa. The list below may help clear up some confusion on certain ingredients that may have gluten origins.
This guide to Tricky Gluten Free Ingredients has seven common ingredients that are almost always gluten free, but may be thought otherwise. Take some of the stress out of shopping with this list!
If you do accidentally ingest a glutened version of one of these items, follow the steps in this article to help your symptoms subside faster: What To Do If You Accidentally Ate Gluten
7 Tricky Gluten Free Ingredients
Maltodextrin is a highly refined food additive. It may give gluten free dieters pause since it is often made from wheat or barley, but fear not. It is processed so thoroughly that it is always gluten free even if you see "wheat" on the label. It is also often made from rice and potatoes, which are both naturally gluten free.
Yeast generally makes us think of bread, and bread is a big no for gluten free eaters. Surprisingly though, yeast extract is gluten free! Keep special note of "brewer's yeast" as it is not gluten free.
In the U.S., caramel color is always made with corn, so it safe for gluten free diets. Even if it is made from wheat (which is rare), it is so highly processed that the end result is gluten free.
While some natural flavorings can be derived from gluten grains, they typically do not contain gluten. Double check for a label listing wheat, malt, rye, or barley and proceed with caution, but it is almost always gluten free.
Modified food starch
Modified food starch is usually derived from corn or potatoes so it is naturally gluten free. However, sometimes it can be made from wheat and then it will be clearly labeled on the package.
Modified wheat starch
If wheat starch is modified, it has been processed to remove the gluten proteins, thus making it gluten free. However, if it still makes you nervous, opt for foods with modified food starch (see above).
Distilled vinegar and alcohol
The distillation process always removes the gluten proteins, so all distilled vinegar and alcohol are gluten free. With alcohol, though, make sure to avoid "brewer's yeast" that is used to make beer and wine as this is not gluten free.
For a sweet treat after carefully reading your ingredient lists, try one of these 16 Best Gluten Free Cookie Recipes from Scratch
Free recipes, giveaways, exclusive partner offers, and more straight to your inbox!
Tags / Related Topics
Your Recently Viewed Recipes
Images from other cooks
Feb 03, 2017
I am so glad for this list. I am new to gluten free eating (I've only been doing this for about two months now) so this list helps a lot. I often have to google things to check if its gluten free so a guideline is a big help. I'm glad to see that I could eat modified wheat starch as a lot of food contains that, especially sauces. Thanks for this!
Toby K Editor
Jul 19, 2016
This is so helpful! One of my friends is gluten free, and I always want to cook when she comes over, but I never am sure what I can make.
Report Inappropriate Comment
Are you sure you would like to report this comment? It will be flagged for our moderators to take action.
Thank you for taking the time to improve the content on our site.
Recipe of the Day
Gluten Free Cinnamon Rolls with No Yeast
"Gluten Free Cinnamon rolls made with no yeast will make your weekend breakfast easier and more comforting than ever. Can easily be… Continue reading: "Gluten Free Cinnamon Rolls with No Yeast"
- How to Convert a Recipe to Gluten Free
- Gluten Free Cooking Tips from Bloggers
- The Ultimate Guide to Gluten Free Binding Agents
- 15 of the Best Gluten Free Blogs
- Gluten Free Flour Substitutions
- Should I Give Up Gluten Even If I Don't Have Celiac Disease?
- How to Use 23 Different Gluten Free Flours
- 10 Ways to Prevent Cross Contamination in Your Gluten Free Kitchen
- What To Do If You Accidentally Ate Gluten
- Tricky Gluten Free Ingredients
My Recipes (0) View »
Something worth saving?
- SAVE your favorite recipes
- ADD personal reminder notes
- QUICKLY reference your recipes
Our Newest Recipes & Articles
- Buffalo Cauliflower Chicken Lettuce Wraps
- Southern Ham With Red Eye Gravy Recipe
- Black Eyed Pea Caviar
- Creamy Jalapeño Sauce
- Honey Goat Cheese Ball Appetizer
- Healthy One Pot Pasta
- Rainbow Chicken Salad Lettuce Wraps
- Bacon Ranch Chicken Salad
- Goat Cheese Scrambled Eggs
- Broccoli White Cheddar Soup
- 13 Homemade Bread Recipes: Gluten Free Bread eCookbook
- 14 Gluten Free Casserole Recipes
- 15 Favorite Tailgating Foods
- 15 Gluten Free Breakfast Ideas
- 16 Best Gluten Free Cookie Recipes from Scratch
- 7 Gluten Free Kid Friendly Recipes Everyone Will Love
- 9 Gluten Free Cake Recipes for Any Occasion
- 9 Gluten Free Muffin Recipes
- 9 Gluten Free Pasta Recipes You'll Love
- Delicious Gluten Free Desserts: 7 Gluten Free Pie Recipes