- see all comments
"This is an awful recipe. Just doesn't work at all. The whole thing still looked just like flour after adding the amount of liquid in the recipe. Wasted a load of ingredients trying it so you don't have to."
"Has anyone used a pasta machine to roll this out? I have had success with egg based GF pasta (with enough xanthan gum) to roll carefully through the pasta machine. Wondering if theres enough hold to do it with this one. Looking forward to trying!"
"This recipe needs a lot of work. The proportions are not correct and the instructions need more work and clarity."
"your favorite foods won't make you feel sick anymore!"
Is Wine Gluten Free? Plus 9 Wine Recommendations
You'll be pleasantly surprised by what's on our gluten free wine list.
We are adding the recipe to your Recipes.
The recipe was added to your Recipes.
Click here to view your Recipes.
Can you keep your nightly glass of Cabernet, even if you’ve given up gluten?
Wine is gluten free naturally, and most winemakers do not add any type of wheat product during the winemaking process. This means that generally wine is fine for someone on a gluten free diet, whether due to celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.
Of course, there are a few sneaky ways that gluten can creep into wine production. But, you can relax, because we’ll cover everything you need to know about gluten free wine below.
We even have some brand recommendations for winemakers who ensure their products are gluten free.
So, the next time you wonder, "Is wine gluten free?" you can answer with confidence!
What wine is not gluten free?
First of all, avoid wine coolers. These are actually malt beverages, which means that they contain gluten. Fruity or artificially colored dessert wines can also contain gluten, as these additives may contain gluten.
Regular red, white, rosé, and sparkling wines are produced without gluten. However, there are two ways that cross-contamination can occur.
1. Some winemakers, primarily in Europe, use a wheat-based paste to seal oak barrels when aging wine.
2. Many wines are “clarified” or “fined” in order to make them clear. Sometimes these clarifying agents can contain wheat.
Is wine gluten free if it is contaminated in these ways? The good news is that both of these processes still only produce a very small amount of gluten in the finished wine. The wines almost always fall below the 20 ppm limit for “gluten free” foods, meaning that most people with celiac or gluten sensitivity can enjoy these wines with no problems.
You can also purchase wine that was aged in stainless steel (which is most white wines, except Chardonnay) or is unfiltered to reduce your risk of gluten contamination, if you have a very high sensitivity.
If you are still concerned, don’t hesitate to reach out to the wine manufacturer to find out how their wines are produced! You can also visit the winery website to see if it has the information you need, which is what we've done to give you the list of gluten free wines below.
Gluten Free Wine List
Some winemakers, just like other food manufacturers, ensure that their wines are gluten free. Check out our gluten free wine list below, and enjoy a glass (or two!).
Cupcake Vineyards Riesling
Cupcake Vineyards Pinot Noir
Cupcake Vineyards Shiraz
Cupcake Vineyards Chardonnay
Frey Organic Cabernet Sauvignon
Frey Biodynamic Sauvignon Blanc
Stella Rosa Wines
Stella Rosa Stella Pink NV
Yellow Tail Wines
Yellow Tail Unwooded Chardonnay
Yellow Tail Moscato
The Wine Buying Guide is a great resource for wine enthusiasts of all levels. Answer your wine questions, like, "What is Chardonnay?" or "How do I cook with white wine?" on our free, user-friendly site (plus get fantastic wine recommendations!).
Do you have any gluten free wines that you love? Let us know in the comments below!
Free recipes, giveaways, exclusive partner offers, and more straight to your inbox!
Tags / Related Topics
Your Recently Viewed Recipes
Images from other cooks
Apr 29, 2017
These are some great tips for gluten intolerant people. Thank you for these recommendations. Eating gluten-free has been a learning curve me so I need tips like these, especially the advice re wine coolers which I have often drunk. Unfortunately I haven't heard of the winemakers you have mentioned here but it piqued my interest them and I am going to look out for them, in particular the Frey Organic Cabernet Sauvignon.
Report Inappropriate Comment
Are you sure you would like to report this comment? It will be flagged for our moderators to take action.
Thank you for taking the time to improve the content on our site.
Recipe of the Day
Healthy Apple Crumble
This healthy apple crumble with oats recipe can be prepared all year round, but I think it can easily be added to the list of best… Continue reading: "Healthy Apple Crumble"
- Gluten Free Cooking Tips from Bloggers
- How to Convert a Recipe to Gluten Free
- 15 of the Best Gluten Free Blogs
- Gluten Free Diet FAQ + Gluten Free Recipes
- The Ultimate Guide to Gluten Free Binding Agents
- Watermelon Granita
- What is Xanthan Gum
- The Top 5 Gluten-Free Apps You Can't Live Without
- Gluten Free Flour Substitutions
- Milk Substitutes for a Dairy-Free Diet
My Recipes (0) View »
Something worth saving?
- SAVE your favorite recipes
- ADD personal reminder notes
- QUICKLY reference your recipes
Our Newest Recipes & Articles
- Cracker Barrel Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe
- Peach Jalapeno Salsa
- Broccoli Waldorf Salad
- Roasted Beet Dip
- Honey Whipped Feta Dip
- Easy Jalapeño Poppers
- Buffalo Cauliflower Chicken Lettuce Wraps
- Southern Ham With Red Eye Gravy Recipe
- Black Eyed Pea Caviar
- Creamy Jalapeño Sauce
- 13 Homemade Bread Recipes: Gluten Free Bread eCookbook
- 14 Gluten Free Casserole Recipes
- 15 Favorite Tailgating Foods
- 15 Gluten Free Breakfast Ideas
- 16 Best Gluten Free Cookie Recipes from Scratch
- 7 Gluten Free Kid Friendly Recipes Everyone Will Love
- 9 Gluten Free Cake Recipes for Any Occasion
- 9 Gluten Free Muffin Recipes
- 9 Gluten Free Pasta Recipes You'll Love
- Delicious Gluten Free Desserts: 7 Gluten Free Pie Recipes